2011 Award Winning Art

The Sooke Fine Arts Show has a proud history that began in 1986 and was organized for 20 years by the Sooke Region Museum.

In 2007, the newly created Sooke Fine Arts Society worked diligently to renew the tradition of hosting an outstanding celebration of the artistic talent from around our region. An independent panel of three jurors selected works from more than a thousand submissions, presenting awards to outstanding pieces in various mediums. Awards were also presented for Juror’s Choices, Honourable Mentions, the Jan Johnson Memorial Award for Social Commentary, People’s Choice, Children’s Choice and Design Committee’s Choice.

We are pleased to present some of our past winners here:

Best 2D sponsored by the Victoria Airport Authority
“Port Alberni” by Patrick Irwin

Best Mixed Media sponsored by KB Design
“A Man of the Cloth” by Jeff Molloy

Best 3D sponsored by Island Vacation Homes
“Minotaur Overseeing Intake” by Jan Johnson

Best Photography sponsored by Island Blue Print Co., Ltd.
“La Habana Elegante #3” by Debbie Clarkston

Best Jewellery sponsored by Point-no-Point Resort
by Heather Hamilton

Best Glass sponsored by Home Hardware
“Internal Reflections” by Jo Ludwig

Best Ceramic sponsored by Village Foods
“White Series #1” by Judy Dyelle

Best Fibre sponsored by Village Foods
“When I Do Not Follow the Rules” by Dana Sitar

Juror’s Choice Awards sponsored by Sooke Community Arts Council
Juror’s Choice (Grant Leier) – “Still Life with Mango” by Dee de Wit
Juror’s Choice (Nixie Barton) – “Benchwarmer” by Johannes Landman
Juror’s Choice (Richard White) – “Bridgework #3” by Nicolas Vandergugten

Honourable Mentions sponsored by Angi Bailey and Razu Welding
“The Haberdasher’s Garden” by Eliza Hemingway
“Untitled” by Debbie Jansen
“Circle of Friends” by Chuck Minten
“YoYoTokTik” by Anne Boquist
“Uchi” by Leonard Butt

People’s Choice Award sponsored by Jordans Casual Home
“Chinese Burial Ground, Victoria” by Marshall Hugh Kaiser

Children’s Choice Award sponsored by Hallgren & Faulkner
“Electric Uni-Monkey” by David Gray

Design Committee’s Award
“When I Do Not Follow the Rules” by Dana Sitar